image
image
 


MWCC Claims Department Frequently Asked Questions

Back to FAQ Page
Back to Main Page

Contents:

Who is required to have workers' compensation insurance?
What is the waiting period for disability benefits?
Does the 5 day waiting period have to be consecutive days?
Does Form B-39 (Quarterly Report of Medical Only Injuries) have to be filed?
Do I file a First Report if the claimant does not lose time but has a disability rating or serious facial disfigurement?


Who is required to have workers' compensation insurance?

Generally, any employer with 5 or more employees should have insurance. (Note: Certain exceptions apply to employment based on an independent or sub contract, farm and domestic employment, and to employment covered by Federal Law, such as maritime employment. See the The Mississippi Code, section 71-3-5.

Back to Top

What is the waiting period for disability benefits?

Compensation for disability is not paid for the first 5 days of disability unless your disability lasts for at least 14 days. See the The Mississippi Code, section 71-3-11.

Back to Top

Does the 5 day waiting period have to be consecutive days?

No.

Back to Top

Does Form B-39 (Quarterly Report of Medical Only Injuries) have to be filed?

No, this requirement was discontinued on July 1, 1995. See the The Mississippi Code, section 71-3-67 (2).

Back to Top

Do I file a First Report if the claimant does not lose time but has a disability rating or serious facial disfigurement?

Yes. Any claim involving payment for any type of disability should be filed with the Commission. See the The Mississippi Code, section 71-3-67 (1).

Back to Top

Back to FAQ Page
Back to Main Page



Click any item listed below for more information about that item


Welcome | Information | Forms | FAQ's | Law and Claims Procedure | Contacts | Other Links | Transparency Mississippi

image
image
image